Unexpected Treasure

IMG_2817
A few weeks ago I finally visited an antique shop near my house that I’ve been wanting to check out. While exploring shelf after shelf of random items, I stumbled upon the coolest Disney snow globe I have ever seen. The base is a wicker sewing basket adored with buttons, a thimble, a measuring tape, and thread. Inside the globe, Cinderella is modeling her lovely pink dress while her bird and mice friends altar it. This by far is my favorite scene in the movie. There is so much detail I can almost hear the mice singing “And we’ll make a lovely dress for Cinderella.” Two years ago, I visited Disney World and realized finding merchandise that features Jaq and Gus (the funny mouse duo) was impossible, so you can imagine my sheer delight at finding this snowglobe. I immediately grabbed it and after gushing to my husband (who politely pretended to care) about this incredible find, I hurried to the register to purchase it. Cinderella holds extra special memories for me because when I was a child my mom offered to invite my best friend Shannon (who I still talk to all these years later) to come to the theater with us. This was the first time I had ever been allowed to bring a friend with me to the movies and I felt so grown up (even though I was only like seven or eight). Now every time I look at my snowglobe I will have a beautiful reminder of this timeless film and the people I shared the experience with. What is your favorite song in Cinderella?

Leave a Reply

